The Rowing World Cup

The popularity of rowing eventually forced FISA (The International Rowing Federation) to start their own world cup in 1997. The world cup features three regattas that are held over the summer months, and each regatta throws up points for the best seven boats, and during the third regatta a winner is chosen. Similar to the Tour De France race, yellow bibs are worn by each stage winner.

So far Europe has hosted the Rowing World Cup, apart from three occasions where it was held twice in America and once in Australia. Both women and men compete in the competition as single scullers, but that format is starting to change and there are now team events.

All About the World Cup

The World Rowing Cup consists of three regattas and the event goes forth towards the World Rowing Championships. It takes place over the period of three days. The modern version of the World Cup includes fourteen Olympic boat classes together with some international class races as well. In some of the World Cups in the past there are some Para-rowing events. The points laid out below are awarded for finishing positions:

1st – 8 points, 2nd – 6 points, 3rd – 5 points, 4th – 4 points, 5th – 3 points, 6th – 2 points, 7th – 1 point.

If any country has more than one team competing in an event, then only the leading boat will be awarded points. The crews in each class that have the most points wear a yellow vests that mark them as current leaders, and at the end of the third regatta the team with the most overall points is declared the winner and receives the Leading Nations Cup.

The 2018 Rowing World Cup

The 2018 Rowing World Cup took place in three venues during June. The first regatta was in Belgrade in Serbia, followed by Linz Ottensheim in Austria with the final regatta taking place during 13th to the 15th June in Lucerne Switzerland.

The 2018 Rowing World Cup


World Cup Winning Nations

Since the inaugural Rowing World Cup in 1997 the competition has been won by just four nations. The first country to collect the trophy was Switzerland and it was not a coincidence that the third regatta was held in Lucerne. Then over the next nine years from 1998 to 2006 Germany took the winners cup every year. Until finally in 2007 their dominance was broken when Great Britain took their very first winners cup. Britain dominated the competition for the next seven years apart from one win from Germany. In 2014 it was the turn of the southern hemisphere to step up to the plate and New Zealand were dominant on European waters for three more years. What is unusual about all this is that the Great Britain team and the New Zealand team have never competed in their own countries apart from one regatta that was held in Dorney. The Rowing World Cup might not yet have the same prestige that the Rowing World Championships do, but having said that, it is becoming increasingly popular and provides great entertainment for the growing supporters of this global rowing competition.